Puedes empezar a leer The Lost Fleet: Dauntless en tu Kindle en menos de un minuto. ¿No tienes un Kindle? Consigue un Kindle aquí o empieza a leer ahora con una de nuestras aplicaciones de lectura Kindle gratuitas.

Enviar a mi Kindle o a otro dispositivo

 
 
 

Pruébalo gratis

Lee el principio de este eBook gratis

Enviar a mi Kindle o a otro dispositivo

Todo el mundo puede leer libros Kindle, incluso sin un dispositivo Kindle, con la app de Kindle GRATISpara smartphones, tablets y ordenadores.
The Lost Fleet: Dauntless
 
Ampliar la imagen
 

The Lost Fleet: Dauntless [Versión Kindle]

Jack Campbell

Precio lista ed. impresa: EUR 10,49
Precio Kindle: EUR 3,80 IVA incluido (si corresponde) y envío a través de Amazon Whispernet
Ahorras: EUR 6,69 (64%)

Formatos

Precio Amazon Nuevo desde Usado desde
Versión Kindle EUR 3,80  
Libro de bolsillo EUR 3,81  
Audio, CD, Audiolibro EUR 25,70  
Descubre cómo ahorrar hasta un 80% en un título diferente cada día
Inscríbete en la Newsletter Kindle Flash y recibe directamente en tu bandeja de entrada la oferta del día Kindle Flash para no perderte ni un título en promoción. Más información

Los clientes que compraron este producto también compraron


Descripción del producto

Descripción del producto

Captain John “Black Jack” Geary’s legendary exploits are known to every schoolchild. Revered for his heroic “last stand” in the early days of the war, he was presumed dead. But a century later, Geary miraculously returns from survival hibernation and reluctantly takes command of the Alliance Fleet as it faces annihilation by the Syndic.



Appalled by the hero-worship around him, Geary is nevertheless a man who will do his duty. And he knows that bringing the stolen Syndic hypernet key safely home is the Alliance’s one chance to win the war. But to do that, Geary will have to live up to the impossibly heroic “Black Jack” legend...



Biografía del autor

Jack Campbell is the pseudonym for John G. Hemry, a retired Naval officer and graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis. As Jack Campbell, he writes The Lost Fleet series of military science fiction novels. He also wrote the Stark's War and Paul Sinclair series under his real name.

Detalles del producto

  • Formato: Versión Kindle
  • Tamaño del archivo: 494 KB
  • Longitud de impresión: 304
  • Editor: Ace; Edición: Reissue (27 de junio de 2006)
  • Vendido por: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Idioma: Inglés
  • ASIN: B000OZ0NXU
  • Texto a voz: Activado
  • X-Ray:
  • Clasificación en los más vendidos de Amazon: n°2.652 Pagados en Tienda Kindle (Ver el Top 100 de pago en Tienda Kindle)

¿Qué otros productos compran los clientes tras ver este producto?


Opiniones de clientes

Todavía no hay opiniones de clientes en Amazon.es
5 estrellas
4 estrellas
3 estrellas
2 estrellas
1 estrellas
Opiniones de clientes más útiles en Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 de un máximo de 5 estrellas  348 opiniones
154 de 163 personas piensan que la opinión es útil
4.0 de un máximo de 5 estrellas Fallen Fleet 17 de julio de 2006
Por Mel Odom - Publicado en Amazon.com
Formato:Libro de bolsillo
Captain John "Black Jack" Geary received his field promotion after everyone thought he'd died in battle. Instead, he'd been in suspended animation for a hundred years when he was found and revived. During that century of warfare that passed, the Alliance struggled against the Syndic, falling prey to the same kind of methodology employed against them by their enemy. Promoted to Fleet Commander after a Syndic betrayal, Geary wants to save as many of his people as he can. Boldly, he begins a campaign that will strand them light-years from home, with the only way back through enemy-held territory. If the Alliance had been the same Alliance he had died for, the chances would be slim. But now the Alliance is a shadow of its former self, no longer a competent force, broken down into segments of selfish officers who won't take orders.

Jack Campbell is the pseudonym for an accomplished SF author. THE LOST FLEET: DAUNTLESS is the first book in a new series.

The authors handling of the military is pitch-perfect. He knows the rules and regs, and he conveys the feeling of battle and being under fire really well. More than the sheer action, move and counter-move, though, he also understand the politics of running a large force and dealing with the enemy in an honorable fashion. The "science" that he's set up to deal with his universe is intact and he adheres to it. Not only do readers learn that the rules of engagement do allow mercy to an enemy, but also that anything over .1 light-speed leaves every other starcraft blurred and in uncertain positions. The military and scientific applications of the story, dealing with honor and command as well as real physics regarding how fast light travels, come across as real. For a science fiction author, it doesn't get any better than that.

Geary's character is a little thin, as is the whole background of the Alliance and the Syndic. Hopefully future installments will illuminate a little more of what Geary gave up, where he came from, and what the societies are like -- other than just opponents.

Readers who enjoyed Robert Heinlein's STARSHIP TROOPERS, Joe Haldeman's FOREVER WAR, John Ringo's Posleen novels and John Scalzi's OLD MAN'S WAR will enjoy THE LOST FLEET: DAUNTLESS.
89 de 98 personas piensan que la opinión es útil
5.0 de un máximo de 5 estrellas Original and Fun 4 de julio de 2006
Por N. Burt - Publicado en Amazon.com
Formato:Libro de bolsillo
I picked up this book and read the back cover and thought well that sounds different. I was not disappointed. The book is original in that it is military sci-fi with character development and growth. Black Jack Geary's thoughts as he trying to adjust to his new surrounds are amusing and totally in character. This book not only has great space battles and a 100 year war, but interesting characters that are more than military automatons. This is a full and interesting world I look forward to reading more about.
46 de 51 personas piensan que la opinión es útil
5.0 de un máximo de 5 estrellas The Burdens of Leadership 21 de abril de 2007
Por J. Brian Watkins - Publicado en Amazon.com
Formato:Libro de bolsillo
I was very impressed with this book. The highest praise I can give this book is that it is worthy of the comparison to the Hornblower series of C.S. Forester. It is the study of a leader who improbably finds himself thrust into a future war where the highly-developed tactics and strategies of space war have been lost owing to the severe attrition in the officer's ranks. It is a Rip Van Winkle tale of a man who must now live in the world of those who would be as old as his grandchildren and finds that much of the honor and discipline of his fighting force has been cast aside of seeming necessity.

Our leader, John "Black Jack" Geary has been picked up after drifting in space for over a hundred years. His exploits in the battle that stranded him are now legendary. Therein lies the unique power of this book--it allows the study of a character with all of the skills to be a fine leader who is unexpectedly thrust into a situation where suddenly he holds all the power and is forced to retrain an entire navy. What does he do? What are the effects of his virtually unlimited power?

The author takes every opportunity to teach the reader the value of discipline and military honor. It is this strong moral undertone that gives the book its power. It is far better than most books of its genre; indeed, this is the first author I have ever encountered who deals with relativistic effects in his portrayal of space battles.

Yet make no mistake, this isn't about battles. This is about a man who is in a position to lead and how he goes about persuading others to follow him. Fascinating five-star stuff.
14 de 14 personas piensan que la opinión es útil
5.0 de un máximo de 5 estrellas I Really Liked this Book 14 de junio de 2007
Por Nicholas Doles - Publicado en Amazon.com
Formato:Libro de bolsillo
This isn't a complex space opera full of twists and turns. This isn't a new epic full of multiple characters and story lines. This isn't the next great series against which all other Sci-Fi series will be measured.

What it is is an extremely enjoyable read with good plot, characters, pace, and one of the most accurate depictions of real space battles that I have ever read.

The main character is the very real, very human Jack 'Black Jack' Greary. Greary had taken part in the open engagement of a century spanning war and his actions had made him a legend. Believed to have died in the battle his life pod is discovered and Greary awakes to find himself a living legend.

Greary is a good character. He struggles with his status as the greatest warrior of his time, struggling to live up to an image that he doesn't feel he matches. The supporting cast is not as dynamic, but they're real and interesting enough, but the focus is definitely on Greary.

My favorite part of the series is the use of relativistic science. Campbell takes into account the speed that light travels in relation to figuring out where objects based on where they were when the light reaches you and where they have moved to in the interim. Communication delays are taken into account with co-ordinating millitary actions in a way I've never seen. This level of use of real science in science fiction is what really sets this apart from the rest.

Some reviews have argued against a higher rating because this isn't a complex novel or an epic saga like the Dune series. But it doesn't try to be. I couldn't wait to pick it back up when I was made to sit it down and it does what it does excellently and what it does is entertains.
10 de 10 personas piensan que la opinión es útil
5.0 de un máximo de 5 estrellas Military Sci Fi at it's best 16 de julio de 2006
Por C. D'Allaird - Publicado en Amazon.com
Formato:Libro de bolsillo
The Lost Fleet: Dauntless was by far a great military Sci-Fi read. The hero is found in suspended animation and revived 100 years after he `died' in a spectacular display of heroics. Now he's a legend in a time where his people are `familiar strangers' and the honor of his day is long past. To talk too much about the book would give away it's excellent points. All I'll say is that the hero is engaging, and you are sucked into his world in the firs two pages of the book, and you can't put that book down. I had to read it in one sitting, and it's been rare I can find a book that produces such an effect. I found it in a way reminiscent of Battle Star Galactica, with a touch of "Space Above and Beyond". The characters are well defined, as is the conflict and moral dilemmas. The battles are quick, and deadly. The stakes are high. Everything you'd want in good Military Sci Fi is here. My only regret: there are no more of these to read. I'm hoping the rest of the books are out soon.
Ir a Amazon.com para ver las 348 opiniones existentes 4.0 de un máximo de 5 estrellas

Subrayados populares

 (¿Qué es esto?)
&quote;
Let us live to the highest standards, lest we win this war only to find ourselves staring in the mirror at the face of our late enemy. &quote;
Subrayado por 31 usuarios de Kindle
&quote;
This fleet fights for victory, not pride. It is held together by honor and courage, the belief in what we fight for and the belief in each other. Pride is nothing by itself. Nothing but a weapon in our enemys hands, a weapon he will gladly use to help bring about our destruction. &quote;
Subrayado por 20 usuarios de Kindle
&quote;
If an artificial intelligence isnt smart enough to employ a weapon all by itself, you cant trust it very much in battle. If the AI is smart enough to employ a weapon all by itself, you cant trust it at all. &quote;
Subrayado por 14 usuarios de Kindle

Los clientes que resaltaron este elemento también resaltaron


Buscar productos similares por categoría