EUR 14,96
  • Precio recomendado: EUR 16,04
  • Ahorras: EUR 1,08 (7%)
  • Precio final del producto
Envío GRATIS en pedidos de libros superiores a 19€. Ver detalles
En stock.
Vendido y enviado por Amazon. Se puede envolver para regalo.
The Utopia of Rules se ha añadido a la cesta
Compara precios en Amazon
Añadir a la cesta
EUR 14,04
Envío GRATIS
Vendido por: The_Book_Depository_ES
Añadir a la cesta
EUR 12,94
+ EUR 2,99 de gastos de envío
Vendido por: dodax-es
¿Tienes uno para vender? Vender en Amazon
Volver atrás Ir adelante
Escuchar Reproduciendo... Interrumpido   Muestra de la versión audiolibro de Audible.
Más información
Ver las 2 imágenes

Sigue al autor

Se ha producido un error. Prueba a realizar la solicitud de nuevo.


The Utopia of Rules (Inglés) Tapa blanda – 16 feb 2016


Ver los 4 formatos y ediciones Ocultar otros formatos y ediciones
Precio Amazon
Nuevo desde Usado desde
Versión Kindle
Tapa blanda
EUR 14,96
EUR 11,04 EUR 19,55

Compra este producto y disfruta de 90 días gratis de Amazon Music Unlimited
Después de tu compra, recibirás un email con más información sobre cómo disfrutar de 90 días gratuitos de Amazon Music Unlimited. Descúbrelo
click to open popover

Descripción del producto

Críticas

"A slim, sprightly, acerbic attack on capitalism's love affair with bureaucracy."
--Cory Doctorow, BoingBoing

"[The Utopia of Rules] should offer a challenge to us all. Should we just accept this bureaucracy as inevitable? Or is there a way to get rid of all those hours spent listening to bad call-centre music? Do policemen, academics, teachers and doctors really need to spend half their time filling in forms? Or can we imagine another world?"
--Gillian Tett, Financial Times

"Graeber wants us to unshackle ourselves from the limits imposed by bureaucracy, precisely so we can actually get down to openly and creatively arguing about our collective future. In other words, yelling at the book is not just part of the pleasure of reading it. It's part of the point."
--NPR

"Graeber's most interesting claim...is that our expressed hostility toward bureaucracy is at least partly disingenuous: that these thickets of rules and regulations are a source, to quote from his subtitle, of 'secret joys' for most of us."
--Oliver Burkeman, The Guardian (UK)

"Something like an intellectual hike led by an eccentric guide: a winding set of anecdotes, schematics, juxtapositions, and assertions... He is a master of opening up thought and stimulating debate."
--Slate

"Thought-provoking."
--Boston Globe

"What intense pleasure this book gave me, despite the dull topic: bureaucracy."
--Peter Richardson, The National Memo

"[A] fizzing, fabulous firecracker of a book... Our contemporary bureaucrats are revealed, in fact, as none other than you and me, forever administering and marketing ourselves."
--The Literary Review

"Anthropologist Graeber is one of our wildest thinkers (see Debt: The First 5,000 Years), and in this book, he takes on the topic of bureaucracy, arguing that what we think of as the root of our civilization -- capitalism, technology, rules and regulations -- may just be what's keeping us in chains."
--Flavorwire, 10 Must Read Books for February

"Inspiring and full of surprising facts... This is ultimately a book about how the systems we invent come to appear natural. We treat our world as though it is a fact, but actually, we produce it. This is not a new idea, but it's one of the most hopeful we've got. It opens the door to change."
--Maclean's (Canada)

"A throughly argued, funny, and surprising new book."
--Jonathon Sturgeon, Flavorwire

"Persuasive... Graeber's aim was to start a conversation on the boondoggles and benefits of bureaucracy. In that regard, he has ticked all the right boxes."
--The Observer (UK)

"Packed with provocative observations and left-field scholarship. Ranging from witty analysis of comic-book narratives to penetrating discussion of world-changing technologies that haven't actually appeared, it demystifies some of the ruling shibboleths of our time. Modern bureaucracy embodies a view of the world as being essentially rational, but the roots of this vision, Graeber astutely observes, go all the way back to the ancient Pythagoreans."
--John Gray, The Guardian (UK)

"Admirable and convincing...In his irrepressible, ruminative way, Graeber stands in the comic tradition of Walt Whitman, archy and mehitabel and James Thurber. This is the chorus with which to laugh the trousers off corporate management."
--Times Higher Education (UK)

"Interrogates aspects of bureaucratic modernity that are normally unexamined causes of annoyance... Stylish and witty."
--Steven Poole, New Statesman (UK)

"Graeber is an American anthropologist with a winning combination of talents: he's a startlingly original thinker...able to convey complicated ideas with wit and clarity."
--The Telegraph (UK)

"A sharp, oddly sympathetic and highly readable account of how big government works--or doesn't work, depending on your point of view."
--Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Debt: The First 5,000 Years

"Written in a brash, engaging style, the book is also a philosophical inquiry into
the nature of debt--where it came from and how it evolved."
--The New York Times Book Review

"An absolutely indispensable--and enormous--treatise on the history of money and its relationship to inequality in society."
--Cory Doctorow, BoingBoing

"[A]n engaging book. Part anthropological history and part provocative political argument, it's a useful corrective to what passes for contemporary conversation about debt and the economy."
--Jesse Singal, Boston Globe

"This timely and accessible book would appeal to any reader interested in the past and present culture surrounding debt, as well as broad-minded economists."
--Library Journal

Reseña del editor

From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives  

Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence?
 
To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeber—one of our most important and provocative thinkers—traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice…though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing—even romantic—about bureaucracy.
 
Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible.
 
An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us—and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.

Ver Descripción del producto

No es necesario ningún dispositivo Kindle. Descárgate una de las apps de Kindle gratuitas para comenzar a leer libros Kindle en tu smartphone, tablet u ordenador.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone

Obtén la app gratuita:

kcpAppSendButton


Detalles del producto


Ninguna opinión de cliente


Valorar este producto

Comparte tu opinión con otros clientes

Opiniones de clientes más útiles en Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3,9 de 5 estrellas 50 opiniones
David Swanson
4,0 de 5 estrellasThe Financialization of Fiction, and Vice Versa
12 de junio de 2015 - Publicado en Amazon.com
Compra verificada
A 24 personas les ha parecido esto útil.
Seth Luxenberg
4,0 de 5 estrellasGood ideas, but gets a little lost in theory
8 de enero de 2019 - Publicado en Amazon.com
Compra verificada
Kindle Customer
3,0 de 5 estrellasA mixed bag
17 de octubre de 2018 - Publicado en Amazon.com
Compra verificada
A una persona le ha parecido esto útil.
jubilee logic
5,0 de 5 estrellasMandatory reading for anyone who wants to understand why we ...
30 de septiembre de 2016 - Publicado en Amazon.com
Compra verificada
A 3 personas les ha parecido esto útil.
CJ
5,0 de 5 estrellasGraeber does it again
17 de septiembre de 2015 - Publicado en Amazon.com
Compra verificada
A 5 personas les ha parecido esto útil.